Filtered by tag: Board of Directors Remove Filter

Dr. Alex Walley Honored with 2023 Training Directors Award

ACAAM President-Elect, Dr. Walley, Receives 2023 Training Directors Award

We'd like to congratulate the American College of Academic Addiction Medicine's Board of Directors President-Elect, Alexander Walley, MD MSc, for being the recipient of the American Society of Addiction Medicine - ASAM 2023 Training Directors Award. Dr. Walley will be presented this award at ASAM's Annual Conference this April, the same week as the ACAAM Annual Meeting.  Congratulations!

About the 2023 ASAM Training Directors Award:
This award recognizes outstanding training in the evaluation, treatment, research and teaching of substance use disorders. Recipients of this award are training directors for accredited addiction medicine programs who have demonstrated leadership and vision in local program development, curriculum development and innovation in teaching and training methods. The recipients of this award must be noted to inspire trainees and colleagues alike with a passion for the practice of addiction medicine. 

About Dr. Walley:
Dr. Walley is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine and a general internist and addiction medicine specialist at Boston Medical Center (BMC). He has been the director of the Boston Medical Center Addiction Medicine Fellowship program since 2011. His research focus is on the medical complications of substance use, specifically HIV and overdose. He provides primary care and office-based addiction treatment for patients with HIV at Boston Medical Center and on the inpatient Addiction Consult Service, which he founded in 2015. He is the medical director for the Massachusetts Department of Public Health’s Opioid Overdose Prevention Pilot Program. Since 2007, the MDPH program has trained over 80,000 people in Massachusetts’s communities, including people who use opioids, people in recovery, and their social networks. He graduated from Harvard College, and received his MD from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and Masters of Science in epidemiology from Boston University School of Public Health.

Attend the ACAAM Annual Meeting: 

Members in the News: Gail D'Onofrio

Join us in congratulating our dedicated ACAAM Board Member, Gail D’Onofrio, MD MS, on receiving the Distinguished Alumni Award from Boston University this September. Dr. D’Onofrio is Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Yale University and Physician-in Chief of Emergency Services at Yale New Haven Hospital. Congratulations again!