ACAAM Board Member Dr. Gail D’Onofrio Honored with AWAEM Legacy Award

Gail D’Onofrio, MD, MS, Receives the AWAEM Legacy Award for Her Outstanding Work in the Field

Please join us in congratulating ACAAM Board Member Gail D’Onofrio, MD, MS, for being the inaugural winner of the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine (AWAEM) Gloria Kuhn Legacy Award!

The AWAEM Legacy Award is given to a woman faculty member who has made outstanding contributions through clinical work, teaching, mentorship, role modeling, or administration. It is awarded to those who contribute significantly to the field of Emergency Medicine, which makes Dr. D'Onofrio the perfect recipient.

Dr. D’Onofrio is the Albert E. Kent Professor of Emergency Medicine, Professor of Epidemiology (Chronic Diseases), and Professor of Medicine Core Addiction at the Yale School of Medicine. During her impressive career, she has also served as the Inaugural Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the Yale School of Medicine (2009-2021) and as Physician-in Chief of Emergency Services at Yale New Haven Hospital and Emergency Department. Boarded in emergency and addiction medicine, she is internationally known for her work in substance use disorders, women’s cardiovascular health, and mentoring physician-scientists in developing independent research careers.

Congratulations, Dr. D’Onofrio!

Share this post: