Keeper of the Flame Award

Established in 2018, the Keeper of the Flame Award acknowledges exceptional individuals who have made significant contributions to evidence-based addiction medicine and its clinical application.

This award is given to those who through their work exemplify the advance of evidence-based science and its translation to clinical practice in the field of addiction medicine. Effective prevention and treatment of substance use disorders has long been delayed due to ignorance, stigma, competing health care and commercial influences, and the lack of sufficient physician involvement.

The significance of the flaming torch, also incorporated into ACAAM’s symbol, is the light of science and expert clinical practices. The person receiving this award embodies one who works toward advancing these practices.

Award Benefits

  • Personalized Award

Award Presentation

Presented at the ACAAM Award Recognition Virtual Event (March 21, 2024)

Past Award Recipients

George F. Koob, PhD, Director, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
Nora D. Volkow, MD, Director, National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) 

Martha J. Wunsch, MD, Founder and Director, Addiction Medicine Consultation- Liaison Service, Kaiser San Leandro Hospital; President, American College of Academic Addiction Medicine (2020-2021); Co-Editor, Journal of Addiction Medicine 

June S. Sivili, MA, Sr. Public Health Advisor, Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)

Richard Saitz, MD MPH FACP DFASAM (Posthumous Award)